Wednesday, February 10, 2010

MASTERPLAN: New Album Title, Release Date Announced - Feb. 10, 2010

MASTERPLAN, the melodic power metal band led by former HELLOWEEN guitarist Roland Grapow, has set "Time To Be King" as the title of its new album, due on April 16. A single will precede the full-length CD in March.

MASTERPLAN vocalist Jorn Lande told Germany's Rock Hard magazine last year about his renewed collaboration with MASTERPLAN, "We never had problems with each other, but professionally, we decided for to go separate ways for a while. . . I am happy that we are . . . working together again — mainly because the combination of MASTERPLAN's music and my singing [is] truly something special."

Lande left MASTERPLAN in May 2006, citing "musical differences" between the vocalist and the rest of the band. During the songwriting process for the group's third album, it became increasingly apparent that the other members of the band had different visions and plans for the group's musical direction. While Jorn allegedly wanted MASTERPLAN to follow a more melodic path, the rest of the band apparently wanted to return to the metallic roots of their debut album.

Vocalist Mike DiMeo (RIOT, THE LIZARDS) announced his departure from MASTERPLAN in January 2009 after recording just one studio album with the group — 2007's "MK II".

Lande's latest solo album, "Spirit Black", was released in June 2009 via Frontiers Records. The follow-up to 2008's "Lonely Are The Brave" CD — which entered the national chart in Norway at No. 28 and Sweden at No. 42 — was described by Jorn as "a solid and defined album that will shake the classic metal world and hammer the future Jorn legacy in stone!"

Jorn Lande cut his teeth with such internationally renowned acts as ARK, MILLENIUM, VAGABOND and THE SNAKES.

Roland Grapow and Jorn Lande (2009):

(re-posted from

(Thanks: Metalrockx)

No comments: